Mounting an Attached but Un-Mounted External Drive (Yes You Can!)

This may be obvious to others, but then again, it might not be.

Using the code I posted here:

... you can create a macro to mount an external drive that is connected to your computer, but isn't mounted.

I used to use an application called "Mountain" for this, but now I've rolled my own.

FYI.

3 Likes

Thank you! Very useful.

1 Like

Different than how yours is set up, I've long mounted attached volumes with a scheduled AppleScript since I would rather specify the times when Time Machine is run.

set theDisk to "Disk Name"
    do shell script "diskutil mount `diskutil list | awk '/ " & theDisk & " / {print $NF}'`"`

After Time Machine runs, another AppleScript unmounts the disk.

set theDisk to "Disk Name"
    do shell script "diskutil unmount " & quoted form of ("/Volumes/" & theDisk)`
1 Like

I think they both amount to pretty-much the same thing. I also use them for Time Machine.

Hi there, I'm very new to KB Maestro. I just downloaded the submacros and read the yellow notes. Starting with "check if drive is mounted," where does the hard drive name go? Where it says cidmTriggerValue?

Read the instructions on the original post:

Thanks so much! Got it working.

KM is AWESOME. :smile:

1 Like

Is there a way to eject an SD card? It seems like they are handled differently. I cannot get the eject function to work on an SD card, and I notice a drive ejecting app I have also cannot manage SD cards.

Try this with your card name:

Thanks for the suggestion, but that didn't work. :slightly_frowning_face:

Rally? I've used that for years. What does the Keyboard Maestro error log say?

To clarify, $KMVAR_localCard is the name of your SD card as it appears in the Finder saved as localCard rather than the script reference ($KMVAR_localCard) to it.

I'm 99.9% the problem lies in my not understanding how to properly do what you're asking. :sweat_smile: