Running Tasks via Multiple Application Pipelines

Hi,

I am totally new to KM and it was recommended to run the trial version to see if it could meet my expectations. It looks extremely powerful via the options, but I haven't been able to successfully make it work the way I need.

I need it to watch a folder for a file, launch an app and load the file into the app and perform a set of subsequent tasks based on the reading of the app. More specifically, watch for an audio file -> open a loudness meter app (if it isn't already running) -> load the file into the app -> perform any subsequent task I require based on the reading given by the app.

I've tried recording a macro but it appears to be based on the position of the windows (folder, app and etc). Which makes the entire process a bit pointless b/c it won't work if any of the windows are moved.

Secondly, it doesn't seem this is really the right approach to accomplish the task.

Is this something KM should be able to effortlessly handle or no? If it should be able to fill the bill, how do I go about doing it? Again, totally new to KM and the abundance of libraries and options are a bit overwhelming just coming into it all.

Thanks

Change absolute position to window so when window moves it considers that

Everything you mention is possible via km

Ok, I'll give that a try. So recording the macro is an acceptable approach?

Yes try to record simple macros first

Not just no, but Hell No!

Do not rely upon recording for anything โ€“ it's like hunting and pecking instead of typing and fraught with misspellings...

Recording can be useful for various things like recording clicks or menu selections โ€“ but you have to understand KM a bit โ€“ before you can tweak the results as necessary to do the right thing.

More specifically, watch for an audio file -> open a loudness meter app (if it isn't already running) -> load the file into the app -> perform any subsequent task I require based on the reading given by the app.