Newbie question - messing up stock shortcuts?

I am brand new to KM - having just downloaded it today. I am delighted with the apparent potential of this app, although the learning curve appears steep. One initial question I have is - how my creation of new hotkey triggers affects the standard Mac ones. For instance, if I create a new macro triggered by CMD-Q, does that mean I have supplanted CMD-Q as it originally shipped with the Mac? Forgive me if this is obvious. My thinking is if I don’t know what CMD-Q did in the original OS, then who cares if I overwrite it - but I would like to know if I am overlooking some obvious problem.

Don’t worry, Keyboard Maestro doesn’t “overwrite” anything in the System. When you assign a Keyboard Maestro macro a shortcut key, it will jump in ahead of the Mac System and fire that macro when that keyboard shortcut is pressed. It will only do this as long as the Keyboard Maestro engine is running. If you quit the Keyboard Maestro engine all will be as normal.

So, if you gave a Keyboard Maestro macro the shortcut ⌘Q yes, it would fire instead of the default Mac System action for ⌘Q but only if you have Keyboard Maestro running. And possibly only for that group of Macros (you can make Macro Groups and have them Application specific).