Using Keyboard Maestro to Custom Move and Resize Windows

Hey guys and gals! New here. I'm having a devil of a time with moving and resizing windows. I want a window to move and resize exactly as is shown in the attached screenshot, but I don't know how to determine exactly where it is x and y on the screen and how to tell KM that I want to end up there sized exactly as it is. Please help. Also, talk to me like I'm 5. I'm just getting into automation.

25%20PM|690x388

Your picture didn't come across. But here's what I'd do.

First, I'd set up a macro that has a hotkey trigger, with one action:

FrontWindowPosition = %FrontWindowPosition%
FrontWindowSize = %FrontWindowSize%

Bring the application window you want to manipulate to the front, and trigger the macro.

Let's say it gave you this result:

Then all you have to do is add a "Move Window" action:

and click on "Move To", and select the following option:

and your action will look like this:

Then just paste in the numbers, like this:

Hope that helps.

2 Likes

Dan,

That did it. Thank you SO much!

1 Like

If you don't mind, a follow up. How did you know what syntax to use in the display query? I never would have know how to do that. Is there a wiki somewhere with that info?

Yes, here's the Wiki: Home Page [Keyboard Maestro Wiki]

We (those of us who answer lots of questions, or in my case, used to answer lots of questions) love it when people ask questions like yours. Sometimes it feels like people just want easy answers, and that's OK, but when someone wants to learn, well, that just makes our day. So, kudos to you, and keep asking questions! :smile:

So let me go into detail how I found this. Even though I know KM very well, even I have to dig a little sometimes. :smile:So here's what I did.

First I searched for an action that retrieved the window's position, and didn't find any.