Napkin v0.9k Text, Drawing & Photo Macro

Napkin v0.9k Macro

Napkin v0.9k.kmmacros (180 KB)

Introducing Napkin

[NB: I've been using various versions of this macro for several months through several rewrites, code cleanups and bright ideas. While it works for me running High Sierra with Keyboard Maestro v9, I'd be interested to learn if it works equally well on Keyboard Maestro v8 and other versions of macOS.]

You're at a diner having coffee with a friend and discussing some half-baked plan. Ideas flow like either clogged catsup or spilled water. So you scribble down a thought on a napkin or you sketch out some diagram that could be mistaken for a plot. Just to control the flow. Nothing may be any clearer but there's a pile of napkins to prove you tried.

Can you automate that with Keyboard Maestro? Sure.

I got a glimmer of the solution with Brian Kammer's Quick Note Taking System. I liked the idea of having a window handy to copy a paragraph and make a note about it as I was reading something intriguing on a Web site.

So Napkin was born.

And over the course of several weeks it evolved into a notation system for both text and images.

To be clear, though, this is not a replacement for note-taking applications like Evernote any more than it's a free version of Photoshop. It's just a replacement for napkins as a way to save text, record doodles and play with photo edits.

ABOUT FILES

One design goal was to minimize interaction with the file system without losing your work. That led to different behaviors for text and images.

Text, I found, was mostly being appended to an existing file. So Napkin lets you store your favorite files in a list and remembers the last one you used. It shows you the active file it will append to when you hit the Save button.

To start to a new file, just change the file name or the directory name.

That makes it easy to both continue building a file of notes for a particular project or switch to another file.